top of page
Kelsey Flynn

ABCs of CincySews (part 1 - A,B,C)

Updated: Sep 18, 2023

It’s back to school time, so what better way to celebrate than to review the ABCs? Fun fact about me: I collect alphabet books! I think it started with the sign language alphabet book I purchased from the Book Fair (remember those?!) in Kindergarten! I now seek them out as personalized gifts or souvenirs from trips! We have books for states we’ve visited, activities we enjoy, and of course, a few Disney alphabet books!


So - over a series of posts, I am going to share the ABCs of CincySews! Please follow and share to keep up with all of the letters. You might be surprised at what letter associations I have come up with!


Here we go!



 

A is for ADOPTION.

Yes, you read that right. Adoption. What does adoption have to do with sewing? I had the honor of embroidering a shirt with a friend’s son’s new initials; he wore this shirt to his adoption hearing when he officially became her son. Even though she brought him home from the hospital and has been his mama in their hearts and our eyes for the past 3.5 years, they are now legally recognized as a family! I added a little extra detail to the sleeve - the adoption date! My own children and I were blessed to be able to attend the hearing and the party, and it was full of emotions! I have known the mama for probably 8 years now, but we bonded over having pandemic babies together, who were born only 3 days apart! Our kiddos are best buddies and it has been magical watching their bond grow. I am looking forward to how it will continue to grow in the years to come!



 

B is for BINS.


Bins upon bins upon bins of fabric, supplies, storage, all of the things! I think I should’ve bought stock in Target before I started building my sewing room because I have purchased quiiiiite a few bins from there! But - they’re amazing! Clear, latching lids, stackable, and fit perfectly on my cube shelves. Bonus points that the handles are purple, which is one of my favorite colors!


I have the larger version tucked under my sewing table to house my embroidery materials, extra shirts for embroidery or Cricut-ing, interfacing, and batting. Handy and accessible, yet out of the way, AND they fit perfectly in this base cabinet I picked up from the as-is section at IKEA! (picture below).


Stretching the word “bin,” I have those super convenient plastic drawers to hold regularly-used tools at my fingertips. I have one for scissors and one for embroidery supplies, and then I have a set just for thread.


Target - my happy place. My downfall.




 

C is for CHURCH.

This isn’t the sewing-themed alphabet you were expecting, is it? :)


But, a church is where I learned to quilt. Senior year of college. I spent Thursday evenings my senior year of college at a church learning how to quilt. That’s something I am occasionally embarrassed to say, but really, it’s pretty awesome. I have a whole post on the circumstances around this, but TL;DR, here it is: I went to WalMart to buy fabric. Salesperson invited me to her quilting group. I went to quilting group. I have lasting friendships with these ladies.


 

STAY TUNED FOR MORE! :)

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page