top of page
Kelsey Flynn

ABCs of CincySews (part 3 - G, H, I)

Whew! This one ended up being a lengthy post, but it's filled with good stuff!


 

G is for GRANDMA.



Some of my favorite sewing-related things belonged to a grandma first! I have patterns, buttons, trim and trim that are still in the original packaging, with decades-old prices on them. Interesting to see how things have changed!



I have hefty scissors that are SHARP and, well, they just don’t make things like they used to! The set of pink scissors was gifted to me by my mama in 2004, when I started sewing. They're still holding up, but need frequent tune ups.


This collection of mason jars came from my Grandma Dolores, and most of the buttons inside were hers as well! I had a great time sorting them and noticing the different sizes, colors, textures, and styles!


This specific blue bin came from my own mom, and though it doesn’t work for my current organization set up, I can’t seem to get rid of it! It held my mom's cross-stitch supplies, which I still have some of them! The cross-stitch books are older than I am! Some of the threads are recently purchased, but some are from when my sister and I used to make friendship bracelets.


In addition to these supplies, I have quilt squares were made by my great-grandma, and gifted to me by my aunt. I have ideas for them swirling around in my head, but I haven’t quite decided what they’re going to become! We also have some completed projects around our house - needlework samples were made by my great-grandma, and my aunt framed and gifted them for everybody in our family. I have two quilts from my aunt, as well as a few baby blankets of various mediums that people have gifted us. We have a blanket knitted (or maybe crocheted?) by one of my aunts, and another by one of Kyle's aunts. Needlework of any kind is NOT my forte, but that doesn’t stop me from appreciating these beauties!



 

H is for HUDSON



My sweet, smiley, happy little boy! I often feel guilty that he totally has “Second Kid Syndrome,” in that he has a very different experience with his mama than his older sister had. That doesn’t mean he is loved any less, but it does mean some things get delayed. For example, his baby quilt is still not finished and he’s almost 17 months old. In contrast, big sis had TWO quilts before she was even born. I guess that’s what happens when you’re pregnant with your first and have lots of time on your hands vs. you’re pregnant with your second but have a toddler to chase around! Spoiler alert: Hudson’s baby quilt is a mini version of the Ohio State helmet quilt I made for my husband before we were married. It’s soo cute, and all I have to do is quilt and bind it, but I have to figure out how to get the script Ohio quilting pattern first because of course, it needs that.


However, I do think Hudson has gotten more one-of-a-kind shirts than sis did! My favorite is the HUDEY design that was his coming home outfit! (see E is for #Extra) And no, I did not make his coming home hat; I ordered it from Etsy! (see I is for Internet & coming soon: X is for eXcept - in that I can do most crafty things eXcept knit/crochet!)


 

I is for INTERNET

Without the internet, CincySews would not have grown the way it has, or the way it continues to do so! I do have an online presence with this blog, my shop on Etsy, and a business page on Facebook, but it is word-of-mouth that gets my name out there. On the neighborhood moms groups, my sister is my biggest hype girl! She is tagging me left and right for projects people have requested. She now has a few “assistants," or people who have become loyal customers, and for that, I am forever grateful! As annoying as the internet can be, it is a quick and accessible way to get in touch with people you may not have otherwise crossed paths with.


I also use the internet for browsing new ideas, collecting inspiration, and shopping for fabric, patterns, and files! I have specific Pinterest boards and folders on Facebook set up for quilting, Cricut, sewing, and clothes I want to make. These things may get lost into the abyss of the cloud about 80% of the time, but I do use them as a handy resource that other 20%!


And maybe I shouldn’t admit this part, but the internet has also been a phenomenal teacher for me! If I am not sure how to do something or what size something should be, YouTube, Google, and Facebook groups to the rescue! I am a very visual learner, so short of a person coming to my house and sitting next to me while I learn how to do something, a YouTube video that I can pause, re-watch, and save is wonderful! I also have a lot of thoughts bouncing in my head and no matter how many quilts I’ve made, I cannot remember the dimensions of a full-size blanket! All this takes is a quick Google search! For more specific questions or things that require a conversation, I have a few Facebook groups I follow. Patterns for Pirates, Made for Mermaids, Brindille & Twig, Quilt-As-You-Go, Cricut



 

See y'all next time, when I'll be another year older! Tomorrow is my birthday!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page