top of page
Kelsey Flynn

ABCs of CincySews - Part 6 (P, Q, R)

SO...we're over the hump. We're more than halfway! But...bad news bears. I've reached my max on media for my setup on Wix. Unless y'all want to start Venmoing me some money to upgrade my subscription, you're stuck with just words for the end of this alphabet. No worries - onward!!


 

P is for PATTON

My OG sewing buddy (my dog - I've shared him before on here, or head over to facebook to see some pictures of him!). When we lived at the old house, he wasn’t allowed in my sewing room for fear that he would swallow pins (the dog eats EVERYTHING), so I would put the baby gate up and pull his dog bed right up to it so that he could be near me! Now, he’s older (and only slightly less obnoxious in all of the crazy things he gets into that he shouldn't), so he is allowed in my room with me. He likes to lay on the floor and just hang, but his favorite place to be is wherever I need to be! On top of the quilt I am piecing, or on the fabric I was going to use next, or right in front of the door I need to open! But I like having my buddy near. And it’s always good to know when there is a rogue leaf on the sidewalk or a delivery truck happens to be in our driveway….thanks to Patton’s LOUD bark!



 

Q is for QUILTING.

Okay, this might be the one legit-sewing word on here! HA! But - quilting. The craft that has my heart and marks me as a certified “Old Lady.” It’s certainly a lost and/or dying art, and I am so grateful for those who have and who continue to encourage me in my efforts. I love being able to see fabrics and put them together in new ways, or seeing a picture of a quilt and mentally breaking it down into sew-able parts. It is an incredible feeling to go from a pile of fabric to a beautiful piece of art that serves a dual purpose of keeping people cozy!


Super excited to go to a quilt show in a few weeks! My friend and I are going to meet up there and wander the aisles, daydreaming, seeing new things, and probably spending a few extra dollars than we absolutely need to!


 

R is for REPEAT CUSTOMERS

Repeat customers are a HUGE compliment! You loved my work so much, you came back?! I have one gentleman that found me on etsy and I’ve now made, I think 5 or 6 baby quilts for him as friends/family members have had babies. They’re always the same template - a basic patchwork quilt in fabrics to match the nursery theme and the baby’s name embroidered in the bottom right corner. I love it!


One of my former colleagues has 3 daughters and 1 son, and they all got married within the past few years (whew!). I was a busy bee hemming dresses for all of those weddings! And then, of course, the grandbabies came! So now I am getting orders from grandma for special gifts for her sweet little ones! I am so happy to oblige!


It’s the same with word-of-mouth recommendations - when I get the “My friend told me you are the person to talk to about a t-shirt quilt” message, it makes my heart happy! That means the friend loved my work and was talking about it!


My mama is probably my #1 customer, which, of course she is! Her aprons, pillows, quilts, her house is decorated by yours truly! My sister is probably my #2 customer. I do a lot of repairs for her, add badges to my niece & nephews’ Scout uniforms, she orders baby gifts for friends, and 6/10 rooms in her house have curtains or toppers made by yours truly! I think “family” as a whole is customer #3, as I’m pretty sure every person close to me has been gifted something hand made!


While my mama, sister, and family will be around, please continue to share my name and contact info with whomever needs it! I am happy to be of assistance!



 

Venmo is @CincySews if anyone is interested ;-)

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page