top of page
Kelsey Flynn

ABCs of CincySews - Part 7 (S, T, U)

Here we go!! I've got some fun links in this post!


 

S is for STASH.

I have a ridiculous amount of fabric, recently made only slightly less ridiculous by a purge and garage sale. Some of it is remnant fabric from projects, some is cuts I have bought just because I like them, some of it is projects that live in my head and may or may not ever come to fruition.



In the 15+ years I have had my own sewing space, I have had a variety of storage options, but I think my current situation is my favorite!

→I started with those metal snap-together cubes when I was working out of a corner of my parents’ basement, but they were very deep and fabric got lost. It also ended up with weird grid lines on the bottom fabric.

→In our first house, my husband graciously allowed me to take over the second (of two!!!) bedrooms for my sewing space. It was a small room with a BIG table in it, so I had to get creative! I had totes in the closet, cube shelves under the table, and a giant hutch that was left there by the previous owners. That was not the best place to store things because it had that musty, old furniture smell.

→In our current house, my husband again graciously allowed me one of the main spaces as my sewing room, or just “My Room.” We built this house, and this front room had the option of being open and used as a study/sitting room, or closed in as an office space. We closed it in, and it’s all mine! I have rearranged it a few times (see post), but the current set up has 2 IKEA Billy bookcases with fabric wrapped on comic book boards (I actually have a brand new pack for sale if you’re interested in starting this process!)


With all of this moving around and rearranging, I have also adopted a mentality of "Modern/Messy Minimalism" or: if you don’t need it, get rid of it. If it can be replaced in 15 minutes for under $20, you don’t need to hold onto it. So this summer, I went through my stash and pulled out lots of fabrics I was realistically not going to use or need in the near future, and had it in our garage sale back in June. A woman came by and said her mother would love it, so we exchanged numbers. The mother ended up calling me, stopping by, and taking ALL of it for her church quilt group! She couldn’t believe I was just giving it away, but I was so happy it was going to a good, useful home. They make and donate quilts, so how special is that?!


TL;DR - buying fabric and making things with fabric are two different hobbies! (and I happily partake in both!)

 

T is for T-SHIRT.

T-shirt quilts are the most requested item that I sew for people. It is such a special way to display the shirts that one has collected over time, but really, it’s a way to showcase those memories instead of tucking them away in a bin somewhere (and you know how much I love bins!


T-shirt quilts can be any size, and prices vary for them. I usually cut the t-shirts in 12”x12” squares, which seems to be the best size to get the majority of designs in. I can also cut 6”x6” squares, which work well for pockets, or 6”x12” squares, which work well for words and sleeves! T-shirts can be bumped up next to each other, or have fabric between them (this is called sashing). I can add extra fabric, I can use fronts and backs of shirts, I can include special dresses, scarves, jackets, jerseys, costumes, pillows, pretty much anything made of fabric! We can talk about adding embroidery, iron-on vinyl, logos, all sorts of things!


Overwhelming? Lots of information? The easiest way to find out specifically what you need, is to send me a message on Etsy, Facebook, or text me!



 

U is for UNIQUE

Every item I make is unique. I tried the craft show route, but it really wasn’t my thing. I like the relationships I build with customers and the stories that come with their specific needs. You just can’t get that at a craft show. Craft show shoppers want something now to take home. They’ll chat, take your card, say they’ll reach out, and inevitably forget, which is totally understandable. I am one of those people too. (you know how many screenshots I have of things I’ll “remember for later”?? HA!)


But meeting a person in their home, at your home, or even in a Target parking lot, and they hand over a box of their baby’s clothes to make into a quilt….and their baby is now a 10 year old sitting in the backseat of that car….and they tell you the story of how grandma bought this onesie and aunt so-and-so bought all of the cousins matching t-shirts one year and her 3rd birthday party was mermaid themed…..and even if I have no personal connection to the person prior to their order, it becomes personal. I cut into that birthday shirt and imagine a sweet little girl running around in purple sparkles with bubbles blowing and a cake that looks like water!


If I have an existing personal connection to the customer, oh man, I am picturing them in each item! I made a quilt for a high school senior who was in my very first class I ever taught. I had many of the same shirts as him because the PTO would buy them for everyone in the building, and it brought back so many memories! It was also really nice to catch up with his mom at drop off, check ins, and then delivery!


Each quilt, each piece tells a story. And I am honored to be part of your story!!



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page