top of page
Kelsey Flynn

Retreat Redo

In my last post, I talked about my space and how having MY room is so special and a much needed retreat for me. Well, the retreat is getting a redo. We’re getting new floors throughout the first level of our house, so I had to clear everything off of the shelves (big furniture can

stay), which means packing up All. Of. the. Things. All of them. Let me tell you - crafters? They have a LOT of things.


We’ve been in this house for 2.5 years, and while I’ve kept my room fairly neat, it has accumulated those dreaded corners of “I’ll get to it later” piles. I’ve tried to have a system, labeled bins, organize my fabric by color and style, etc. It’s mostly there. Just a few more tweaks!

 

While we’re at it and the room is apart, we’re painting too! I chose a nice, calm gray/blue/green/coastal color (Valspar Morning Fog). Oh yeah, and we’re painting the family room/kitchen! And for that space to get new floors as well, we have to clean up the toddler toys. And the baby toys. And the dog toys. And then our neighborhood planned a big garage sale for this weekend & next. And, what the heck, let’s toss in the fact that I’m a teacher and it’s end-of-year-responsibilities-time and I still have two children to care for! Well, there goes my garage (see photo) and my sleep!


But this is a sewing blog? I digress…


Sewing and life for me intertwine. So while I’ve been caught up with all of these other things, I haven’t had much time to sew or create. As I packed the room, I came across projects that I have been meaning to complete. I need a better system to keep track of ideas and future projects. Anybody have ideas?


I also am taking this opportunity to re-think the layout of my space. Anyone have any grand ideas for this? The room is about 11’x15’, so a really decent sized space and furnished thanks to IKEA and Facebook Marketplace IKEA finds! I have 3 BILLY bookcases that hold my fabric, a 5x5 KALLAX shelf that holds my craft supplies, a small corner desk, a super awesome sewing table that my dad rigged up, and a really nice cutting table that my dad helped me rig up. The front of the room has a wall that is mostly window, which lets in excellent daytime sunlight. The overhead lights however, leave something to be desired. They are high up, super bright yet shadowy, and there are only 4 for this big space!



One big, blank canvas! Here's a sketch of the current layout; I am open to suggestions! Thanks for your help!




~~Stay tuned for progress pictures and the final(ish) product! And sewing-wise…I have a couple of Cricut shirts to make as well as a few quilt orders coming in. I am excited to utilize the fresh space! :)


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Surprises

Life is full of surprises, right? Things that amaze and astonish us, keep us guessing, keep us wanting more. I like to surprise people. ...

Comments


bottom of page