top of page
Kelsey Flynn

ABCs of CincySews - Part 8 (V, W, X)

I appreciate you sticking with me....


 

V is for VERSATILE

My sewing room has just become “my room.” It houses everything….

  • Of course, all of my sewing supplies (fabric, scissors, thread, machines, patterns, a pile of clothes I need to repair, etc.)

  • Cricut + supplies

  • Scrapbook paper

  • miscellaneous craft supplies

  • Projects I am working on

  • laptop & desk for work from home part tmie job

  • Printer

  • Binders for one part time job

  • Manuals for another part time job

  • storage for gifts

  • secret hiding spot for Amazon packages my husband doesn’t want to know about

  • Secret hiding spot for Disney gift cards I am collecting and plans for when I take my daughter for the first time (my husband also doesn’t want to know about this hehe)

  • Secret hiding spot for mama when she needs a break

  • office supplies

  • School papers and teaching books

  • Nora's art cart

  • mailing supplies (address book, stamps, envelopes, birthday cards, etc.)

  • There is a corner dedicated to stuff I need to sell and stuff I need to return

  • My two college diplomas are on the wall

  • 2 pairs of Crocs because they are so comfortable to stand in!

  • Currently housing Hudson's music book that got shuffled in here

  • Newly added: a bin of “homeschool” supplies for me to add some structure to my 3.5 year old’s days! I am SO excited for this!

  • And if you know me at all, you won’t be surprised to know I have a stash of snacks in here!


It’s a safe place, away from the dog and the children, with a childproof handle on the door. It’s a quiet space for me to get away and work and get my mind of things. It’s a place where I can breathe and create. I also love that I have a window that faces the street so I can casually watch the neighborhood!


 

W is for WONKY

Wonky is my mom’s favorite word to describe my projects. I prefer unique. But yes, they’re not perfect. A human made them. A human with ADHD. A human who thinks patterns are more of a suggestion than a rule. And they are all 150% made with love!!!


 

X is for eXcept

I sew. I quilt. I hem dresses. I make clothes. I make bags, aprons, pillows, cushions, baby gifts, and I can pretty much figure out most things made of cloth. I embroider. I cross-stitch. I Cricut. I paint. I scrapbook (sort of). I am fairly techy.


I can do most craft things…..eXcept knitting and crocheting. If it uses yarn, I can’t do it.


I can NOT knit. I can NOT crochet. I have tried. I have taken classes. I’ve asked friends. I’ve asked grandmas. I’ve been gifted lessons. I’ve YouTubed. I’ve tried. I can’t. Yarn and I? We aren’t friends. I admire people who have either/both of these skills, because they are an amazing art. According to my husband’s grandma, who can “teach anyone,” I am backwards. According to a knitting teacher I had for a minute, I am a “Continental knitter,” which means I knit left-handed, which is odd because I am very much right-handed.


For our wedding, one aunt gifted us a crocheted blanket and one aunt gifted us a knitted blanket. I have no idea which is which, but I learned this fact when I was talking with a colleague who does knit/crochet and I asked her if she could repair these two blankets, as my aunts live out of town. The blankets have been on our couch, used almost daily for 8 years, so they’re….loved. She came back the next day and was amazed at the skill in these two blankets. I had no idea they were that intricate. To me, they’re beautiful and cozy and obviously a labor of love, but I guess the one pattern is really intense. I am grateful she was able to repair them because I had no idea what I was doing and was going to just run them on my machine, but luckily, she preserved the intricacy of them!


 

...8 down, 1 more to go!


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page